How to temporarily disable Instagram

Temporarily deactivating Instagram can be the solution if you want to take a break from the social network, but don’t want to permanently delete your account. In this way, it is possible to return to the service at any time, without having lost everything that has already been published.

  • How to delete Instagram account
  • How to show or hide the number of likes on Instagram

Next, learn how to disable Instagram. The procedure is not available on the social network app, which means that you need to access the platform using your PC or mobile internet browser to deactivate your account.

How to disable Instagram

  1. Go to “instagram.com” (without quotes) in a web browser and log in;
  2. Tap your photo icon in the bottom right corner of the screen and go to “Edit Profile”;
  3. Scroll down to the bottom and tap on “Temporarily deactivate my account”;
  4. Select a reason for suspension and enter your password;
  5. Confirm on “Temporarily deactivate account”.

Can I disable Instagram as many times as I want?

Instagram only allows you to temporarily deactivate your account once every seven days.

How long is the account disabled?

There is no limit to leaving an Instagram account disabled.

What do I lose by turning off Instagram?

Basically, you don’t lose anything. Your account becomes a “ghost” when it is deactivated, even if temporarily, being in a kind of stand-by. Other people will no longer be able to access your profile, and nothing that has been published will be deleted until you log in again.

Can I log into other apps with Instagram disabled?

Yes, but this will cause your account to be reactivated. If you want to keep your profile deactivated, you will need to use another form of login instead of Instagram.

Why can’t I disable Instagram from the app?

Instagram, like any other social network, does not want to lose followers. For this reason, there is no direct option to disable Instagram from the app. The same goes for those who definitely want an account on the service, as the action also needs to be accessed through a mobile browser or PC.

Disable or delete Instagram?

Deleting is a more drastic measure than just taking a break from Instagram, as you lose access to your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes, and Instagram followers. However, it is possible to recover the account within 30 days of the request, although the entire process takes up to 90 days to complete.

In case you just want to be off for a certain period, turning off Instagram is best. Your profile and posts will be hidden from others, and reactivation can be done at any time, including immediately upon request.

Leave a Comment