Want to know if you’ve been blocked on WhatsApp? Fortunately, there is evidence that can strengthen this hypothesis. When blocking someone, the messenger activates a series of limitations for that profile. It is precisely these limitations that denounce whether contact has been restricted.
As these are indications, it is not possible to confirm the suspicion. After all, the same effects of blocking can be generated by privacy adjustments, lack of connection or even loss of access to the account. Still, the presence of these events makes a block on WhatsApp (Android l iOS l Web l Desktop) more likely.
- The “last seen” and “online” no longer appear;
- You don’t see updates to the contact’s profile picture;
- Sent messages are not delivered (they only have a “check” arrow);
- It is not possible to make calls on WhatsApp to this contact;
- You cannot add the number to any groups.
With the exception of calls, which are not available in the web version, it is possible to check these traces in all versions of the platform. But before jumping to conclusions, know that all these “clues” must be present to indicate that a blockage has occurred.
When trying to access your account and use the platform, you will immediately see the warning: “Your phone number has been banned from WhatsApp. Contact us for help”. In fact, contrary to what many think, it is not difficult to obtain this type of restriction. Some practices can lead to this result, such as:
- Download the app from untrusted sources;
- Download WhatsApp replicas;
- Add numbers to groups without having permission;
- Send bulk promotional messages;
- Send a lot of messages to contacts who don’t have your number saved;
- Having your number blocked by many users in a short time.
To end WhatsApp’s temporary suspension, contact support and request a review of the measure — or let them know that the restriction was in error, if applicable.