If you got tired of the messenger, had your cell phone lost or stolen, know how to delete whatsapp it might be useful. The process is quite simple and can be done in a few minutes using the app. The other versions of the platform, it is worth mentioning, do not offer this possibility.
Before proceeding, you should understand what the effects of this action are. The process takes 90 days for the platform to complete. However, once the user confirms the decision, it becomes irreversible — there is no “regret period”. So even if you delete your WhatsApp account (Android | iOS | Web) by accident, you won’t be able to recover it.
Incidentally, the account is lost along with the message history, all groups, as well as Google Drive and iCloud backup, among other data. This does not mean, however, that messages sent to other people will be affected: they will remain on those users’ devices and in their original communication channels.
According to the messenger, some registration information may remain in the database. In this case, the platform guarantees that they will become anonymous. Such storage may be for legal reasons, breach of terms, damage prevention efforts, or other reasons. What matters is: the data will not be tied to your identity.
- To delete WhatsApp, go to the app’s settings. Click the three dots button on Android and on iOS select the gear located in the lower right corner. Then tap on “Account”;
- Among the available options, choose the command “Delete my account”;
- On the next screen, confirm your phone number and once again click on “Delete my account”.
This method only works for those who still have access to their WhatsApp profile. But what to do when your cell phone is lost, stolen or stolen? In this scenario, the user must go another way.
How to delete WhatsApp account in case of theft
According to the platform itself, the safest attitude is to request the chip block from the responsible operator. Once this is done, there are two possible paths:
- Use a new SIM card with the same number to activate WhatsApp on another phone. This is the fastest way to regain access to your account and prevent third-party intrusion;
- Or email support ([email protected]) with the phrase “Lost/Stolen: Deactivate my account” in the body of the email. In the message, include your phone number with the country code and area code, as in the example “+55 21 994132 XXXX”.
As you can imagine, the effects of the deactivation process are different. For starters, your contacts will still be able to view your profile. In some cases, it is also possible to recover Google Drive and iCloud backup.
In addition, messages will remain pending for up to 30 days. When you regain access to the account, you will be able to view them normally. However, if the registration is not reactivated within this period, it will be automatically deleted.