How to Delete Spotify History

Spotify still doesn’t allow you to clear the list of the last songs or podcasts played in the app. Until some time ago, it was possible to erase Spotify history, song by song, using the desktop version of the service, but today this is no longer allowed.

By default, Spotify saves the last 50 tracks played to your account. What you can do is use a trick to “delete” older content heard in the app. Another solution is to uninstall and install the app again, causing a “reset” in the tool. In more drastic cases, you still have the option to delete content from your Spotify library. Here are three suggestions for clear Spotify history.

How to clear Spotify music history

listen to new music

As stated earlier, there is still no native feature to erase Spotify history. All songs, albums, podcasts and other content heard on the platform are saved in the “Recently Added” and “Recently Played” playlists.

For this reason, the only alternative to erase Spotify history directly in the app is to listen to new songs so that the oldest ones are removed from the list of last played tracks. Spotify always lists the last 50 items played, so just tap that amount to “push” content you don’t want visible.

Delete and install Spotify again

Another alternative to erase Spotify history is to delete the application from your phone or computer (desktop version) and reinstall the program again. With this, the tool is “reset” and the last playlist is clean until you hear new songs.

Delete Spotify songs, albums or playlist

The last solution to erase Spotify history is also the most drastic: deleting the content of the streaming application. Thus, it will no longer be visible in your library, including the “Recently Played” section.

On Spotify web, desktop or mobile, follow the steps below.

  1. Open the Spotify app on your computer or a mobile phone;
  2. Find the album, playlist, song or podcast you want to remove;
  3. Right-click on the item (on PC) or tap the three dots (on mobile);
  4. Select the “Remove from Your Library” option and you are done.

Leave a Comment