Tired of Stories, Feed, Reels and want to know how to delete your Instagram account? Luckily for you, the process is simple and quick. After some changes to the platform, the option is no longer “hidden”. Now, you can delete the profile with a few clicks and, better, through the app itself.
- How to request download of your Instagram data
- Instagram Direct: How to download your conversations
Previously, it was necessary to access an opt-out link via the mobile or PC browser. This is the only significant change in the process: the rules and effects remain the same. By the way, on the cue, have you ever thought about the consequences of that decision?
What happens if I delete Instagram?
If you opt for permanent removal, some information is unrecoverable. Learn more about the process below:
- You will lose access to published content and the profiles you follow. For this reason, it is recommended to make a backup;
- Published content will no longer be accessible to other users;
- The account will be permanently deleted within 30 days, but the entire process can take up to three months;
- If you want, you can create a new account with the same username or reuse it in an existing one;
- Some data may be stored on the social network for reasons such as legal issues, breaches of terms, or damage prevention efforts.
Can I recover my Instagram account?
As usual, Instagram allows the user to recover their account after the deletion request. This is common practice on social media — after all, companies expect you to regret it.
Here, the deadline is 30 days after pressing the “red button”. By the way, if you started adding up the days or opened the calendar, you can stop. The application informs the end date in the last two steps of the process.
To find out where this information is located, go to the last two screenshots of the walkthrough below and look for the underlined text (the date shown in the image is just an example). To recover your Instagram account, just log in before the deadline.
How to delete Instagram account
Before proceeding to the walkthrough, be aware that the option is not available in the web version of Instagram (Android | iOS), only in the app. Below, see the necessary steps.
1. Access the profile, click the three-dash icon in the upper right corner and select “Settings”. Then, tap on the “Account” tab and, among the last options, on “Delete account”;
2. Again, click on the command and confirm your decision. Now, enter a reason for deletion and enter your password in the field below. Finally, tap on the “Delete (username)” button.
How to temporarily disable Instagram
If you want to deactivate your account, just select the option in the second step of the tutorial. On the screen, you will see the question “Deactivate your account instead of deleting it?”. To advance, select the blue button. On the next page, enter a reason, enter your password and confirm.
If you have any questions about this process, or want more details about deactivating, don’t worry. O Haanga teaches you how to temporarily disable Instagram in more detail.