How to deactivate your Facebook account

Facebook (Android | iOS | Web) is one of the most used social networks today and offers a series of benefits to its users, such as keeping in touch with friends, family, and much more. However, over time, it may be that the platform gets in the way more than it helps.

These days, it has become increasingly important to take care of digital well-being, reducing the time spent on the cell phone as much as possible, especially on social networks. So, if you’re tired of it or want to take a break from the platform, check out how to temporarily disable Facebook below!

How to temporarily disable Facebook

Step 1: Open the Facebook app on your phone and tap the social network icon in the top menu.

step 2: then expand the “Settings & Privacy” option and tap on “Settings”.

step 3: Click on “Account Ownership and Control” within the “Your Facebook Information” section.

step 4: then select “Deactivation and Deletion”.

step 5: Keep the “Deactivate Account” option selected and click “Continue to Account Deactivation”. Then enter your password and click “Continue”.

step 6: Select a reason to deactivate your account and tap “Continue”.

Step 7: Scroll down to the bottom of the next page and change the “7 days” option within the “Reactivate your account” section to “Do not automatically reactivate”. Once this is done, click on “Continue”.

step 8: before finishing, it is important to point out that if you have a page that is not controlled by any other Facebook user, it will also be activated. If you don’t want to disable it, the suggestion is to give someone else full control of it. To finish the procedure, tap on “Deactivate my account”.

Once this is done, no one else will be able to see your profile on the social network, as it will be properly deactivated. However, your Messenger account will remain active and you will be able to use it, even with the account deactivated. To disable it too, check below how:

How to reactivate Facebook account

To reactivate your account, simply access the Facebook app or website and log in with your email and password. For all the information to be retrieved, you may have to wait a few hours, but the process is automatic.

Ready! You can now deactivate your Facebook account temporarily.

Leave a Comment